Yes, I love suppressors and think everyone should own one

Steve Johnson
by Steve Johnson

I just want to clear something up …

The phrasing on one of the blog posts yesterday gave some readers the impression that I thought civilians should not be allowed to own suppressors. While I admit the wording was ambiguous, I am very surprised that readers of this blog would get that idea after I have spent two years writing about the joys of suppressors!

I happen to own multiple suppressors and I am very much a civilian! I can name far more reasons why a civilian shooter should use a suppressor than I could for military users.

Steve Johnson
Steve Johnson

I founded TFB in 2007 and over 10 years worked tirelessly, with the help of my team, to build it up into the largest gun blog online. I retired as Editor in Chief in 2017. During my decade at TFB I was fortunate to work with the most amazing talented writers and genuinely good people!

More by Steve Johnson

Comments
Join the conversation
2 of 7 comments
  • Heath Heath on Oct 06, 2009

    Look what I found on Google! All I will need is my C&R and to pay the $200 tax.

    After August 28, [2008] licensed dealers and collectors will be allowed to own silencers in Missouri. Obtaining a federal firearms license (FFL) can be a pain, but obtaining the curios and relics (C&R) license is easy. Obtain Form 7CR from the ATF; fill it out and send it in to the ATF along with a check for $30. Your local sheriff also needs a copy, but you do not needs his/her permission. You can also obtain the FFL, but it is $200 (plus state fees) for 3 years and requires an ATF inspection before you get it. The C&R allows you to collect antique firearms from other licensed persons across states lines. This is what people get when they want to build a collection of old guns, but do not want to pay retail prices or get the FFL. The C&R is only for building a personal collection, not for selling guns to others.

    Check out http://www.senate.mo.gov/08... and http://www.cruffler.com/bec... for information on the law and obtaining a C&R license.

    Silencers are legal in 37 other states and ATF approval to own them is routine. You will still be required to pay the $200 tax for each one you make or buy. You must be at least 18 years old to make or buy from a person in your state, 21 or older to buy from a dealer. Shooting suppressed firearms is a real treat. Check out http://www.subguns.com and http://www.silencertests.com for more info. Have fun.

  • Jdun1911 Jdun1911 on Oct 07, 2009

    I do not know the laws in Missouri but most states that allow NFA only require the buyer to meet federal ATF laws in that regard.

    These requirements are:
    1. 200 tax stamp.
    2. Local Chief Law Enforcement signature.

    You can bypass the CLE signature by going for a Trust if the guy is an A-hole.

    Firearm Trust Guild.
    http://forums.officer.com/s...

    I agree that suppressor is more useful in the civilian world then the military.

Next